AFA 2012 National Results!

Congratulations to the UT Speech Team and its performance at the 2012 American Forensic Association -National Individual Events Tournament, hosted this year at Texas State University – San Marcos. The team advanced 35 entries to the elimination rounds. Though it was not enough to overtop eventual team champions Bradley University, it was the best performance ever by a UT squad at the AFA contest. This was a very complete team effort. Of the 23 students entered at the tournament, 19 received individual awards (detail below), while senior Christy Liu was also recognized as an All-American and 8th overall speaker. Seniors Christy Liu (Extemp) and William Igbokwe (Persuasion) were awarded UT’s 35th and 36th individual national titles, while Igbokwe also completed his tenure as the 2011-12 National Student Representative to the NIET Executive Council.

A huge thanks goes to the team’s coaches for 2011-12, director Randy Cox, graduate assistants Leah Lefevbre and Brandon Anderson, and alumni Aviva Pinchas, Mary Kate Raffetto, Brendan Chan, Nance Riffe, Bryan Gray, Christopher Mendez, Kevin Chiu, and many others who have provided time and attention throughout the entire year.

2nd place, Overall Team: University of Texas at Austin

National Champion, Extemporaneous Speaking: Christy Liu

National Champion, Persuasive Speaking: William Igbokwe

AFA All-American: Christy Liu

8th place, Overall Speaker: Christy Liu


National Finalists:

National Runner-Up, Impromptu Speaking: Rahul Sangal

3rd place, Persuasive Speaking: Kyle Akerman

3rd place, Extemporaneous Speaking: Daniel Hatoum

4th place, Extemporaneous Speaking: Rahul Sangal

6th place, Extemporaneous Speaking: David Wang


National Semi-Finalists (Top 12 nationally):

Daniel Hatoum, Impromptu Speaking

Christy Liu, Impromptu Speaking

Jaime Garcia, Extemporaneous Speaking

Lario Albarran & Fernando Morales, Duo Interpretation

Jeremy Vandermause & Kevin Giffin, Duo Interpretation

Matt King, Program Oral Interpretation

Chelsea Rodriguez, Program Oral Interpretation

Chelsea Sandlin, Prose Interpretation

Christy Liu, After Dinner Speaking

Taylor Adams, After Dinner Speaking

Alex Hatoum, Informative Speaking


National Quarter-Finalists (Top 24 nationally):

Alex Hatoum, Impromptu Speaking

Jaime Garcia, Impromptu Speaking

William Igbokwe, Extemporaneous Speaking

Jeremy Vandermause & Melissa Lamb, Duo Interpretation

Kyle Akerman, Dramatic Interpretation

Melissa Lamb, Dramatic Interpretation

Nathan Rarick, Dramatic Interpretation

Jeremy Vandermause, Dramatic Interpretation

Kyle Akerman, Poetry Interpretation

Melissa Lamb, Prose Interpretation

Kevin Giffin, Prose Interpretation

William Igbokwe, After Dinner Speaking

Daniel Hatoum, After Dinner Speaking

Rahul Sangal, Communication Analysis

Colin Malinak, Communication Analysis

Kyle Akerman, Informative Speaking

Nathan Rarick, Informative Speaking

Share this: